A Look Back

Well, it’s the first day of Winter Break 2010. It’s the 23rd of December. Six months ago I did NOT have a job. I was looking at probably substitute teaching again this school year.

On July 14, I looked online and saw that there was a math position open at Turning Point Learning Center. I applied and went to tutor a couple of students that I had over the summer. When I finished at 11 am, I had missed a phone call. There was a voicemail from this lady named Ginger asking me to call her back. I call her back and we set up an interview/meeting at 3:30 that afternoon. I had been painting and ran home to clean up a little. She said it did not matter what I was wearing when I came.

I go in and I meet Ginger, Erin, and CoSondra. They all seemed nice and possibly great to work with. I end up visiting with them about the school for about an hour and half. Ginger asks me that if I’m hired if I would be able to go to Hutchinson for a meeting on the following Monday. Well, I don’t get a call. I wait and wait. In fact, I gave up on getting the job. I had been so use to having rejections, I just thought it was another.

Then, on July 27, 2010, I am called by Terry, the principal, to come in and meet him. We visit for about 30 minutes, and then I’m on my way out the door. About 10 minutes later, he calls me back and offers me the job. He then goes on to tell me that there is a Parent Information Night at 5:30 (it was about 4:30) that evening. He told me that I did not have to come, but I thought that I might as well. So I go and was introduced to the parents. “This is our newest teacher, Anthony Purcell. He was hired about an hour ago, so don’t ask him anything, because he doesn’t know.” Laughs all around.

This first semester at TPLC has been a wonderful one! First, I met some great new teachers that are now friends. I enjoy spending time with all 5 teachers that I work closely with in the face 2 face program. I’ve learned so much as well! There are so many educational tools that I had no idea about! I’m still trying to learn them and use them.

Project Based Learning and the Life Practice Model that we use at TPLC is not easy to learn. It is not easy to teach. There is so much that I’m still learning to do to help students. Each day is different and we want to help the students by becoming better citizens. We do not answer questions for the kids, we ask questions to help them find answers.

Looking back at the teacher I was 6 months ago and looking at the teacher I am today, there is a difference. Am I to the place that I want to be as a teacher? Of course not. In fact, I hope there is never a day that I sit and go, “wow, I’m the best I can be.” I’m a life-long learner and I am continuing to learn how to help students everyday.

I want to thank all of my Plurk friends, Facebook friends, Twitter friends, and people I see daily in person for all the great ideas that you have shared with me. I’m looking forward to the Spring 2011 Semester at TPLC with open eyes, ears, and mind. I”m excited at what it will bring. I hope that I can teach these students to the best of my ability and help them become better people!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Look Back

  1. Pat says:

    Thanks for reflecting about how your life has changed these past 6 months. I think you are teaching in an awesome place and wish I lived closer so I could visit. I think PBL is a great way to teach! I also can say after 30 years of teaching, I never felt I reached the point where I wasn’t still learning and growing. I think if you reach a point where you think you are the best and don’t need to grow anymore, it is time to find another job! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

