A New Year coming very soon

As is with most people, I am looking at the end of this week being a new year. However, as an educator, I get this week off. What do we use this week for? Is it to unwind from the past semester or to get ready for the upcoming one? I like to do both. I still have grade cards to do from last semester, but I also want to look ahead at what I can do to help the students even more with their education. With that, I have been starting to read blogs, and even started one myself about a month ago.

I’ve written a few posts and have gotten a few comments on some. I get really excited when I get an email saying that I have a comment to review. It means that someone read it and cares enough about what I said to say something back!!! However, do I always comment on other posts?

Tonight, I read Pat Hensley’s post about commenting on blog posts. That led me to Sabrina De Vita post. Well, reading them got me thinking about all the times that I have not posted on people’s blogs after I read them. Did I learn something from them? Of course. Why didn’t I let that person know that I read it and enjoyed it? I think it’s important to let others know that you enjoyed their conversations.

Think about this in life. You invite someone over for coffee. You sit there and look at each other without talking. Or you tell a story and that person has a glazed look in their eyes or have no reaction to what you are saying. How do you feel? Well, if most bloggers are like me, if you never get comments, you start to ask yourself why you have a blog. No one comments. No one cares.

I think that if we are encouraging students to blog and comment on other posts, we should be doing it ourselves. I’m not saying we should be commenting on the students posts only, but our cohorts as well. We are sharing ideas with each other all the time. I feel it is very important to let each other know that we do care.

I vow in 2011 to comment more on other blogs and let them know that what they have to share is important and helpful for me. I hope that you do the same.

Happy New Year everyone and may 2011 be prosperous and encouraging to you!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, New Year, Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Year coming very soon

  1. sabridv says:

    Hi Anthony! I’m glad you’ve been inspired to make the resolution of making more quality comments next year. I’m sure that if we all do so, 2011 will come full of wonderful comments, reflections and collaborative learning. I’ve already added your blog to my greader, so I’ll be reading you and commenting too! =) Keep up the good job!

  2. Pat says:

    I’m a little behind in my reading but I finally read this post. I’m so glad my post got you thinking! I love the comparison to meeting someone for coffee and will definitely use that in my class when I’m having my students blog. I do require my univ. students to blog and comment because sometimes it is hard to take the first step. If it is required, they have to take that step and then find out it really isn’t painful. If I can use your coffee meeting as an example, I think it will really hit home to them. Thanks for extending the conversation!

    • Pat, feel free to use this for any educational purposes! I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. The main thing to remember is that if you take the time to share your thoughts in a blog, someone else is the same way. Would you like people to comment back? They would as well!

Leave a Reply

