First day of school 2011

Well, here we are in the final hour of the first day back with students. Many of you may be asking how I can be typing this during the school day. Well, here at TPLC we have working Tuesdays. What that is is a chance for students to work on what they need to work on for school. It may seem like students wouldn’t work, but you would be amazed at how they take a hold of their learning and keep focused. Now I’m not going to lie, there are a few that try to see what they can get away with, but for the most part ,they work.

This morning as students were coming in from winter break, they were buzzing. They were excited to see their friends again after about two weeks. They were sharing what they did over break and the gifts that they received. I’ve seen school the day after winter break before and it can be tough to get the kids back into the school mode, but they were ready here.

Over break I had a chance to buy some new books as well as get books that I had left at my brother’s. I told a couple of students that I had new books (I let students check out books from me). The next thing I knew I had about 10 kids asking to see what I had. I checked out about 5 books (one even to a teacher). I get so excited seeing kids read the books and talk about them to each other. In fact, I have two (one 6th grade the other 7th) sitting on my couch discussing the two books that they checked out. They have been reading all day!

Now, some of you are now questioning how students can be reading all day. What about their other classes? Well, with it being the first day of a new quarter, today was a chance for students to either get caught up from last quarter if they weren’t finished, or work ahead. With these two, they had the freedom to read all day since they were caught up with their work. What I love even more is that I teach math! YES!!! You can teach something besides reading and get excited about it!!!

I know that trying to get back into school can be tough. Not only to students but also as a teacher. I’m looking at this new semester as an exciting time to dig deeper into my knowledge of education and help these students wherever they may need help. I don’t know everything and I don’t ever want to know everything. However, I’m going to be learning new things all the time.

I’m excited to be working with another teacher from another school later this week over math vocabulary. It’s a new idea of how to present them the words to students and help them understand the words. This is the first day of many great learning days to come!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

