A Good Thought

Yesterday was a great day! I had a student sitting next to me working (it is mandatory he sits next to me). He does not stay on task very well and does not want to write the math problems down. He then looks at me (this is a daily occurrence) and asks for help. Our daily dialogue follows:

Me: Did you write it down?

Student: No.

Me: Write it down.

Student: I did it in my head and the answer isn’t here. (It’s multiple choice)

Me: Write it down.

Student: I did it correctly though.

Me: Write it down.

Student grumbles and starts to write it down. He then proceeds to get the correct answer after working on the paper.

Me: See, it helps to write it down.

Student: Yea, but. . . .

Me: Write it down it helps.

Student: But. . . .

Me: Write it down.

This is a daily occurrence. Since it is daily, it really is not in a nice tone, but in the tone that we teachers all have after we say things over and over. It is some tough love, but he does get the point. Well, yesterday, toward the end of the class he looks at me and says, “I have never had a teacher challenge me in math like you.” That was such a nice thing to hear.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Understanding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Good Thought

  1. Michael G. says:

    You have nothing to worry about. You are a fine teacher with great passion and integrity. Whoever leaves your class for someplace else will feel the loss in time.

  2. “Write it down.” Love it! It’s a great mantra.

  3. Daisy says:

    “Write it down.” Said calmly, repeated calmly and insistently, this is a very valuable statement.
    When the child is open to explanation, you could say “Write down what’s in your head so I can see it.” “Put your thoughts on paper.” Statements like these help explain that his thoughts are valid, and expressing them in writing helps him take those thoughts one step further.

Leave a Reply

