A Reach Around the World

As many of you know, I am a rather young blogger. I have been on here for less than two months. However, the first time I started getting comments, I was excited. Not only then, but when I started realizing that people leaving comments were in other parts of the world. . . .WOW!

This school year has been great for me. I am out there and meeting new people and I have an actual Professional Learning Network (PLN). This is something that I knew I needed, but I had no idea really how to get one. Well, with the help of Ginger Lewman and Turning Point Learning Center (TPLC), I now have a large one.

Just yesterday I had a parent of a student stop me after a meeting and tell me how much she enjoys reading my blog. It made me stop and think, wow, I am making an impact. However, I also know that if it wasn’t for my PLN then I wouldn’t be making the impact that I am. I would like to thank every one of you for this!

No because I have been impacted by people around the world, I want to be able to share that impact with children that are not as lucky as we are in the United States. I am not the richest person in the world (dollar wise) so I cannot help everyone. However, recently I was introduced to a project that is being done by a senior in high school in central Kansas and YOU can help make difference.

A friend and a part of my PLN, Kevin Honeycutt, has many great ideas. He has created this website, and a few others, that teachers refer to and use on a daily basis. His son is Ben and is a senior at Buhler High School where the senior class is to do a project that will leave a legacy. He was introduced to Govinda Prasad Panthy in Nepal. Govinda is a teacher in a rural area out there. He has very little resources to use for teaching children. His story can be found on The Open World Project website.

Ben and his classmates are raising money for the school. Here is a quote from the website:

The project is was thought to be simple, raise money and buy books, shelves, chairs and tables for a school in Nepal. In real life it’s a complicated task. If the kids order materials and send them to Nepal, they get held in customs and big taxes are charged that the school cannot afford. Anything shipped that is valued at $100 or more is taxed at nearly the same rate. So how do we help? By talking to Govinda and reasearching and asking (all of which cost him money and time) we finally began to get a picture of a possible path forward. Govinda can buy materials in Nepal much cheaper than we can afford to once they are shipped and delivered, so the task is to raise money and share it with the school. We got the school’s bank information and failing that we know how to send money via Western Union. Anything shipped requires a trip for Govinda to Khatmandu, one hour away by chartered jeep or bus so the things and times we send things becomes important.

Children around the world have a need for learning and being educated. If you cannot donate, please take the time to spread the word about this project. This is a chance for a little school in central Kansas to help out a rural school in Nepal. Not only is this a chance for them to make a difference, but also you.

Once again, thank you to all those that read my blog. It is so exciting to share my experiences and also be able to hear from you. I love the ideas that you share with me! May we reach around the world and help all children learn!

A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops. – Henry Adams

Knowledge exists to be imparted. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Kindness, Social Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Reach Around the World

  1. Thanks my friend for helping spread the word about the legacy project! You are blogging mike a veteran! Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing your ideas and passion!

Leave a Reply

