Blogging Blogging Blogging

This past week has been crazy. First I did a short survey over math feelings. I shared a few first results of the survey, but I’m still looking through the data and trying to figure out more. I also started a class over teaching math in grades 5-8. It’s a great class and helping me reformat how I teach math. I then went all over the state of Kansas this weekend to look at the 8 Wonders of Kansas. Doing all this got me thinking. . . . How long should a blog post be?

Is there an answer out there? Can you have one that is too long? Can you have one to short? From what I’ve read, you have to keep them varied. Darren Rowse wrote 5 years ago that a readers attention span is 96 seconds per blog. Do you think that’s true today? Five years ago I don’t think there were as many bloggers. Also, I think that having readers to save and gather blogs might help because you know the good ones to read.

Anyway, I want to share that if you always post long boring blogs, people will not read them. However, if you have some short ones out there for a quick glance or thought are great. Either way, I hope that you enjoy several blogs out there. It’s a great way to share your thoughts and to read other people’s ideas in so many topics. So why not start one yourself? Don’t be scared! Grab your computer, hunker down, and start a blog!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blogging Blogging Blogging

  1. Pat says:

    I try to write posts about the same length as the ones that I like to read. I don’t want them to be too short where people think it isn’t worth the time to stop and read it. (It reminds me of some hikes I’ve gone to where it takes 2 hours to drive to the trailhead only to find out that the hike is only a mile and takes about 30 minutes to hike.) I also find myself bored if I write them too long so I know if I’m getting bored writing it, everyone will be bored reading it! I tend to keep my posts between 500-800 words.

Leave a Reply

