A New Approach to Work

I’m your new administrator in your place of work. This could be a school, an office, or even your government office. All previous requirements of you are now gone. This means that if you have had to be recording information to share with others to prove that you are doing your job correctly, that is no longer required.

Are you going to celebrate now? What are your initial thoughts? Are you scared something bad is going to happen? Well, don’t worry, I have different requirements for your job.

Starting today, you must:

1) Find a Professional Learning Network (PLN) in your field. Do you know how to do this? Do you know where to start to get this set up? If you’re on Twitter, you may already have one! However, are you using it correctly? What about Facebook? Are you on there? Are you using it to better yourself or show the whole world how much you party on the weekends?

2) You must blog. Now I can hear everyone shaking. “I can’t write.” “My typing skills aren’t that great.” “My job is too time consuming.” “My kids are too active and I don’t have time to sit and write.” I hear the excuses all the time. When I first started to blog, I set up a goal of once a week, now there are days that I barely miss.

So what are your thoughts about your new job requirements? Are you more stressed? Do you think this is a bad thing?

I feel that parts of this would be wonderful. I feel that many of us have an understanding of what our job entails and needs to survive, so I think things will still continue. However, with having a PLN and talking with people around the world, you will continue to get ideas and sharing some yourself. Not only that, but by blogging you are going to start reading other’s blogs and find more information.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you think it could work? Share your feelings. Let me know what you’re thinking. You do have to blog to keep your job, right? So why not start by telling the “boss” just how you feel.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

