Fun Monday Post

I signed up to do a fun blog post today. What would I do with a large sum of money?

Well, of course I would look at Turning Point Learning center where I currently teach. I would want to give the money to the school. We are going through a big change, mainly in administration, at the school. I know that it’s not for monetary reasons, but giving the school 1 million dollars sure would help.

The school is a Project Based Learning (PBL) school, so money is a little bit of an issue. We have done a couple of large projects this year and the cost of materials adds up quickly. I’d like to be able to have the students keep track of the budget as well. There would be a committee of students that would listen to plans for the money and decide if the money would be spent well.

I could see some great projects coming from this! The students could build an outdoor classroom, which we wanted grant money to build. They would have seating outside for eating and also exploring nature. It would include a garden of food, flowers, and many educational ideas.

I could also see some of the furniture in the school being replaced. They would have a chance to spend the money where they need fit.

Now I hope that the students would also think about the future of the school and put part of the money into savings so that they can build some interest and keep the money around for awhile. So many lessons would be able to come from this for the students.

So what would I do if someone gave me $1,000,000? I would give it to the school in hopes that great things would continue and the students would learn budgeting and other great educational things.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in 1 million dollars, Education, Project Based Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun Monday Post

  1. Molly says:

    Anthony, Thanks for joining us for the Fun Monday event. Have you applied for any grants to fund your outdoor classroom? I know that there are a number of grants available. With your interest and dedication, winning a grant is within your reach.

  2. Kim says:

    A very wise use of money and the gift that keeps on giving.

  3. Pamela says:

    all of us have such wonderful pet projects…
    I like the idea of an outdoor classroom.
    I also like the idea of helping fund education for children in these repressed financial times

  4. Sandy says:

    Great use of the imaginary money, Anthony!

  5. Sayre says:

    You’re the second true philanthropist I’ve read. Most of us take care of our own stuff first and then think about things outside our personal circle. It’s nice to know there are people like you out there!

Leave a Reply

