Blogging Rules

My title “Blogging Rules” can be taken two different ways. First, it can be the fact that blogging is cool and they way to go in today’s society. Blogging gives you a chance to share your ideas and get feedback and grow as a person. For me, my writing has been improving at many can see what I am doing and thinking in the educational world.

However, the other way is that there are rules on how to blog. First, if you are going to go out there and say things that you shouldn’t, this is not the way to do it. Recently a teacher was suspended because she had a blog. Does she have a right to speak and share? Yes, she does. However, when you tie your name to a blog and then you speak the way she is? What are you telling parents? What are you telling your students?

In the classroom teachers need to be a leader and help students. Going out there and saying that I hate your kid and seems smarter than she actually is, you are not leading correctly. We are to be nurturing and helpful to students as well. Going out and sharing this is not right.

Now, some say, “this is why you blog under a pseudonym.” Really? That’s the answer? I feel that if you don’t like your job and you are venting in a blog in this way, GET OUT OF THE JOB! Apparently you are not happy if this is how you feel. Too many educators are this way. Why are you bad mouthing your students, yet continue to teach? If you don’t care for the education world and some of the frustrations that it brings, GET OUT!

Recently I posted a blog. I thought I was fine. I did not mention any names and was complaining about a situation. Luckily, I have a teacher that reads my blogs. She told me that I needed to edit it and change it. I was little hurt and mad, but then it got me to thinking. Anyone can read this. Even though I didn’t mention names, if that person would have read it, they would have known I was talking about them.

Now this is not only tied to blogs. A few years ago some people that I know were talking online about a situation at their job. They didn’t mention names, but people read it and knew what they were referring too. They, like this teacher, were put on administration leave until they could figure out what to do. They were allowed to return to their jobs, but had to cancel the page that they had.

The internet may feel like our own little world at times, but we all need to remember that once it’s online, it’s there FOREVER. Anyone can see it. Even if you have things “private” does not mean that it’s hidden. Anyone could potentially see. So remember, be wise online. Be a good citizen to the world.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blogging Rules

  1. Dr. Fowler says:

    I agree with you, Pat. If we can’t be ourselves in our online personas, then we shouldn’t be teachers in the first place! I occasionally use my blog to rant, but I give my readers a warning about it.

    Thanks for this post!

    Laurie

Leave a Reply

