Blogging in the Classroom

I have recently read quite a few blogs about students blogging in the classroom. I have shared my thoughts on students needing to share their thoughts and ideas with classmates through blogging as well. Our Communications teacher is one teacher that is having her students blog in and out of class. Some students love it, ohers not so much.

Recently I encouraged one of those students and helped her find a topic to write on. I told her that once she wrote her post to share it with me and I would comment on it. Wait, I teach math, why would I do that? I feel that students should be encouraged and all teachers should be helping. It’s how more and more people are communicating.

Well, after my trip to the 8 Wonders of Kansas, I had students read the two posts and share with me how we could use technology and my trip in the classroom. They were then to write a short paragraph and send to me. This student that I encouraged didn’t want to just tell me her thoughts, she posted her thoughts as a comment on my blog.

Why am I sharing this with you? Well, when you care about your students and you share your compassion of all subjects, they start to open up. They want to share more.

Are you sharing with your students? Are you pushing your love of education past the four walls of your classroom? I encourage you to open up the doors and walls and show just what kind of educator you are.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education, Kindness, Reading, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

