Adding Conference Presenter to the Resume

Well, after today, I can now add that I have given a presentation at the Mid-America Association for Computers in Education (MACE) conference in Manhattan, KS. The title of my presentation was “Reaching Every Student in Math“. Here is my view of the day.

My session was the last one of the day, so I wasn’t expecting that many people to be there. When I got to my room there were about 7 or 8 people sitting in the hallway waiting to get in because the session before still had about 10 minutes left. As I was standing there people continued to show up. By the time we could get into the room there were about 20 people standing in the hallway. I couldn’t believe it. I was so nervous.

I went into the room and started to set up. Now, I knew that I had forgotten my dongle in order to use the projector. I was alright with that. I was just going to have the attendees look at the doc as I shared about the different items on there, then let them play around on them.

So when it was time to start I introduced myself and got started. I shared the website that I shared above and started to tell how students in math may need a little help/review as they learn a concept, or even be challenged more. I was really nervous as I was talking and I stumbled over my words a few times. As I was speaking I see a few heads pop in the door. They were my coworkers, Ginger Lewman, Charlie Mahoney, and Erin Fitzpatrick. They just stayed out in the hallway during my session.

I hope that I didn’t stumble too much. It was fun to be presenting. I even had a few stay after and share more sites that they use. I am so happy to have teachers that want to share ideas with me! As I was leaving, Ginger looks at me and says that she has some things set up for me to start working with other schools about Project Based Mathematics. What a wonderful experience today was. I have to thank Ginger for making me do this. I would have never signed myself up.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Android, Blogging, Education, Galaxy Tab, Love, MACE, Math, PLN, Professional Learning Network, Project Based Learning, Reform, Social Networking, Teaching, Technology, Understanding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adding Conference Presenter to the Resume

  1. Trissa McCabe says:

    I attended your session and you did a great job! I love receiving/sharing websites and tricks of the math trade with other teachers. You have some great resources lined up and I’m excited to explore the possibilities of iPads in the classroom. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pat says:

    Sometimes it is good to have people who push us to spread our wings. I had a principal who believed in me more than I did myself and pushed me to more than I thought I was capable of doing. I was surprised when I met his expectations and gained more confidence in myself. I’m doing things now because his belief in me enabled me to believe in myself. I’m glad you have people in your life to do the same.

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Achievements of 2010-11 School Year | Educationally Minded

Leave a Reply

