Are You Reading the “News”paper?

 

©Flickr Photo by Trois Têtes (TT)

I ended my online class today that I have been taking over the past few weeks. It’s been a wonderful class. This class was looking at math and everyday life and bringing the two together. My final project I did a lesson over what the percentage of the newspaper is actually news. The students really enjoyed the project and seeing that there really isn’t much news in there.

I wanted to write the lesson plan directly in the post to share it with you, but due to the formatting of the lesson, I cannot seem to format it in a readable fashion on this site. However, you can read my lesson plan by clicking below.

How Much News is Really in the Newspaper?

I hope that you have a chance to do a project based, student centered lesson in math. It really gets students involved and out of the mundane repetitiveness that math classes can have. It may take a leap for you to step out of your regular routine, but it really can make a difference in the students. Allowing them to work together in groups and figure out statistics and problems in everyday life is so rewarding.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Math, Project Based Learning, Reading, Teaching, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are You Reading the “News”paper?

  1. Road Warrior says:

    I am currently taking Elementary Math in college. I found your post very helpful. Thank you for sharing.

  2. You are welcome for that. Feel free to use it!

  3. Pat says:

    This looks like a great lesson! I’m interested in hearing about the results (including how the students responded to the lesson and what worked and what you would change about this lesson). Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Achievements of 2010-11 School Year | Educationally Minded

Leave a Reply

