A Long Week

I just want to share that this week has been intense. Monday I worked 14 hours because the school had a coffee house night to share all of the fine arts that we do at school. It was 2.5 hours of wonderful music, acting, and sharing by the students.

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday were 12 hour days. Two of the days ended with all the staff sitting talking about students and how to help them as well as planning projects for next week. Today we had a Sure Council meeting to discuss school needs and business. I can only imagine what tomorrow holds. I know I will be there at 7am to share ideas and help students learn.

The reason I share about the long hours is not to complain. I share my story because I love what I do. One of the best things is that I love the staff that I work with. I have been in other jobs where I am not challenged, I don’t get along with other staff, and I do my business and leave. However, this place is different.

The staff I work with is my family. I go home to an empty house and a television at night. I love being with my coworkers visiting and working. I love being with my students teaching AND learning right along with them. I’m challenged everyday, and I love it.

So, as I get ready to head to bed after writing this on my Galaxy Tab, I want to say thank you to the wonderful staff, students, and parents at Turning Point Learning Center for the great first three quarters that I have had. I hope everyone can have such a great environment to work in.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Galaxy Tab, Kindness, Love, Project Based Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Long Week

  1. Elysabeth says:

    I’m not even a teacher and it’s been a long week for me as well – kind of an off-kilter week really – my weeks are always long since I have to get up and take kids to school, come home and try to squeeze in a few hours of work, do some online class time with Mr. Hughes’ class in Utah during their writing time, go pick up the girl from school (she has early dismissal every day – gets out at 1:35 PM), come home, work maybe an hour before having to return her to the school for play practice several days a week, picking up the boy about that time and then trying to come home and squeeze in a few more hours of work.

    Thanks for sharing with us – E 🙂

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of the Junior Geography Detective Squad, 50-state, mystery, trivia series

    Where will the adventure take you next?

    JGDS blog
    JGDS website

    • Thank you for your comment. I took a look at your website. I will have to take a longer look at your writing and your books. It looks like you do some great things for children.

      • Elysabeth says:

        I’m hoping to reach a great audience of kids but so far with only five states available (6th will be released this month, hopefully by the 25th) it’s kind of hard to say. Sales have been slow and am getting desperate to cover costs for all my upcoming events – lol. The books eventually will support me but until I have enough titles available, can’t really say they are right now. I hear from lots of teachers that this is a great idea and they wish they had something like this when they were in school but still no takers on getting the whole series – planning in advance because it will be the end of 2019 when the final book is published. Thanks for stopping by my website and pass it on and hopefully the right administration or school or someone who has funds can support my books or sponsor them or do a nice big order for the classrooms or libraries – lol.

        I also do school visits and virtual classroom visits via Skype if you are interested, although I don’t have a video camera on this computer so it would be voice only so far. E 🙂

        Elysabeth Eldering
        Author of the Junior Geography Detective Squad, 50-state, mystery, trivia series

        Where will the adventure take you next?

        JGDS blog
        JGDS website

Leave a Reply

