End of a Trip

image

I’m writing this while sitting in the back seat of a car. The past week I have been on Spring Break. It was the first time I was on a train, the first time to Chicago, and the first time of meeting some teacher friends in person.

I feel that everyone should travel at least annually. I feel that it’s important because our minds need breaks. Studies show and ss Josh Stumpenhorst shares on Stump the Teacher, we need brain breaks. Most of the time we take small ones when working at our jobs. However, I feel we need larger ones as well.

Schools have the right idea. We give students large breaks throughout the year. Personally I think the ones during the school year could be a week longer and shorten the summer break a little. Taking time off and getting away is good for the soul. You can see and do things that you normally don’t have a chance to. You have no worries or stress of your job.

Why do I feel this is important? Well, do you ever get stressed? For instance, this past week I have been in done contact with students who were working on some school work, but for the most part I was not thinking about work. Now as I get closet to home, the thoughts and stresses of school are coming back.

I have a week before my students take the state math assessments. What do I ned to accomplish this week with them to help them prepare? What is important that I haven’t covered? It all comes back. I know many students have taken the past week off as well.

It’s important. It clears the mind. It’s healthy. I hope that each of you take a moment to get away and clear your mind. You will be very grateful you did.

The picture above is from Saturday, March 26, in St. Louis, Missouri. It snowed about there inches. Very beautiful, but a but out of season.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Brain Breaks, Education, Galaxy Tab, Math, PLN, Professional Learning Network, Social Networking, Spring Break, Technology, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

