A Look at PBL, Part 2

Yesterday I took the advice of my PLN and wrote a post about Project Based Learning vs. Traditional Learning. As I was writing the post I had a great ending, then when I go to the ending I had forgotten what I was going to write. I’ll fess up, I don’t like how I ended the post. So, this is the ending that I was originally thinking.

***I am a big fan of The Biggest Loser on NBC. I was watching the show last night and impressed at the work, once again, that the contestants put into their life changes. Big cudos to them. Then I got to looking at it a little deeper. It’s Project Based Learning.

We all can go and read about how to change our lives. For example, you can go and read about how to lose weight. Eating right and exercising. However, how many times do you hear stories of people that have difficulty of keeping it going? Then, I watch this show and see all the people that have been on the show and how successful they are in keeping the weight off, eating right, and helping others reach their goals.

These adults are learning as they do it. They are not just reading and trying to relate the information, they are actually doing the work, then looking back and remembering what they had learned. They make mistakes and go back to the foods they use to eat. That’s part of learning. You slip and make mistakes, but what you learn from the mistakes is what you remember!

So think about it. What is the best way for people to learn? Is it by sitting in a desk and being told what to remember, or actually going out there and doing the work, then remembering what YOU feel is important?

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Personal Learning Network, PLN, Professional Learning Network, Project Based Learning, Reform, School, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

