Do you (Insert Social Network)?

You can’t get away from it anymore. Facebook, Twitter, Ning, edmodo, Plurk, LinkedIn, Flickr, Blogspot, WordPress, diigo . . . .  the list goes on and on.

How much social networking do you do? First, if you’re reading this, then you are doing some of it. What is the purpose behing it? Why are we so connected? Should we be more connected? Are you too connected?

This is why I’m connected. I want to learn! Not only do I want to learn, I want to share what I learn.

There are many times in my life that as I have learned something by reading or finding something online, I share it with my friends. They either don’t listen at all, or listen then ask me why I shared it. I was learning! I was finding new information! Why do you want to just be “happy” with what you already know?

I have been told all school year to be using Hootsuite. This combines your social networks together so that you can post once and it goes to all your networks. Is this beneficial though? Well, this is how I use it. I have it connected to Twitter only. Twitter is for my educational/professional purposes. What I post on there I know my friends on Facebook would be bored with and have not interest in.

Hootsuite gives me the ability to follow my timeline, #mathchat, #math, #engchat #edchat, as well as many other feeds all at once. This makes it easier to see what other people are saying about education and math without following them. It also gives the chance to start following those that are sharing more often. I downloaded Hootsuite on my Galaxy Tab yesterday, also available on iPad.

I feel to not be connected is to not be learning is to not be living. You may not agree with me, but that is my thought.

Feel free to friend me or follow me in the following locations.

Twitter: mathonthemind
Plurk: TPLCMisterP
Diigo: Anthony Purcell
YouTube: AnthonyLPurcell

Get connected and keep learning!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education, Galaxy Tab, Personal Learning Network, PLN, Social Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you (Insert Social Network)?

  1. Pingback: Early Morning Thoughts | Educationally Minded

Leave a Reply

