Early Morning Thoughts

My last post that I wrote was about social networking. I have enjoyed getting many resources from Twitter and Plurk, but didn’t see the real effect until last night.

Shortly after 9pm on May 1, 2011, I was sitting at home and thinking about heading to bed. I was checking my Twitter and I see CNN tweet that President Obama was going to be speaking soon and that the reason was unknown.

That got my mind to racing. After 10pm on a Sunday evening in Washington, D.C. and the president is going to speak. I was nervous and confused why he would be coming on so late. Next I heard that it was national security that Obama was going to be talking about. I became nervous. What was happening that he would speak this late? Next thing I knew, Twitter went crazy!

Osama bin Laden is dead. People were sharing their thoughts. Happy, sad, worried, funny. It was all on there. People were sharing. Teachers pulling together around the world discussing how they would use the news in their classrooms today. Everyone was talking about it. Twitter even hit a record during the news sharing.

I think that social networking gives everyone a chance to share their thoughts and feelings as well as hear/read other reactions. It helps us know that we are no longer alone. Here are two more reactions to the news.

My Bin Laden Takeaways – Josh Stumpenhorst

Ten Years of Innovation Highlighted in One Night – bryce dot vc

May 1, 2011 was a day that will go down into history for many reasons. I was home alone, but I didn’t feel alone because of Twitter, Plurk, and Facebook. Once again, I ask. . . .

“Do you (Insert Social Network)?”

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Bin Laden, Blogging, Education, Personal Learning Network, PLN, Professional Learning Network, Social Networking, Teachers, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Early Morning Thoughts

  1. Michael says:

    I believe that is exactly how we are going to see the world now: Vicariously through the eyes of Social Media. I’ve learned that it isn’t a bad thing. I was also alerted to the situation by a friend on Facebook. That doesn’t mean the death of television or radio, though -I turned on the TV immediately. I also thought it was interesting that a Pakistani civilian was tweeting the event the whole time -despite knowing what he actually witnessing.

Leave a Reply

