Some Random Math Fun

Dividing a Triangle

I recently read that someone needed to divide a triangle into 10 equal parts. So I did that myself. It took a little bit of work, but I finally did figure it out. In fact, you can see that I did it two different times. Then someone posed the question, can you divide it into 10 equal triangles? I haven’t had the chance to try that yet, but is that possible? I think it would be, but I would need to lose the center of the triangle and not use it for dividing. Have you tried? What do you find?

Also, a couple of fun tweets that have come across today. They are math oriented and can only be used in 2011. They have been tagged with “can’t happen for another 823 years”. Do you know why that would be? Is that true, or just saying it?

Add the digits of your age in 2011. Subtract from age and add digits of answer. eg 31-4=27,2+7=9 It’s always 9!

Add the number of ur age in 2011 to the last 2 numbers of the year u were born, u’ll get 111. 28 + 83 = 111

I hope you have some fun with the fun math facts today.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Art, Geometry, Math, Project Based Learning, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

