Quadrilateral Review

Last night was my final tutor session with my student. He was reviewing quadrilaterals for his final. They can be confusing for students when trying to remember all the rules and connections between them all. I have seen Venn Diagrams that use words, but I was looking for a way to show the relationships without words. I drew a rough sketch of what I have above and he understood it instantly. It made sense to him. I them made a sketch on his paper that he is able to use for his final.

When I got home, I took my thoughts and created the above image. Is this clear? Do you understand the relationship between the rhombus, square, and rectangle? Do the colors make sense? I had others share their ideas to help get this final piece.

Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated. Also, please share this out with math teachers. I think this will help clear many confusions for students.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Algebra, Education, Geometry, Math, School, Teachers, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quadrilateral Review

  1. John Golden says:

    Rhombus needs to contain square, as does rectangle. In fact, square should be the intersection of rhombus and rectangle, though I think most would make you allowances for style. Trapezoid should contain everything except kites.Right trapezoid and isosceles trapezoid should contain rectangles (overlap should be rectangles).

    But excellent start!

    My attempt at showing some of these relationships: http://mathhombre.blogspot.com/2010/09/is-math-creative.html

Leave a Reply

