NUMB3RS Final Thoughts

I am currently finishing up the book “The Numbers Behind NUMB3RS” with this being my final post on the book and the television series.

First, I received the DVDs in the mail. I had went to the local CD Tradepost, but they didn’t have the series, but another store did. They mailed them to me and I was sitting down to watch, when I open up the box, just to see that I had no disc one. I couldn’t believe it. So I went out to the store to show them.

They guy opens up the box and can’t believe it himself. So he calls the store and tells them what is going on. They start checking to see if maybe they had just looked over it in the store. Right then, the guy behind the counter lifts up disc two, and disc one behind it. Yes, I never thought about doing that. Apparently, the disc just came loose and moved while in shipping. (Insert laugh here)

So I sat down to watch the show. One great thing about the book is that it focuses a lot on season one. So as I was watching the series I knew which math to look for in each episode, making the show a little easier to watch. I am not a big fan of the crime solving shows. In fact, this is the first out of all of them that I’ve seen. I really enjoyed the math behind it.

In the back of the book there is a guide for the first three episodes as well. It gives you reference to the episode and the math involved.

Overall, if you are a person that enjoys seeing where math fits into the real world, this is the book and television series for you. I think it would be fun to take a month of school and use NUMB3RS in the classroom and work on the formulas they use. Taking tips from the book and the show, I feel kids would really enjoy finding math use in the real world.

I also got this great quote from the show: Charlie, the mathematician, walks up to a fellow professor of his.

Charlie: Do you have a minute?
Professor: Yes, because we all have exactly the same number of minutes at all times, do we not?
 

I’m not sure what it is that grabs my attention in that, but I loved it. Thank you for taking the time to read the past few blogs about my reading and investigation of a television series.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Math, NUMB3RS, Project Based Learning, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

