A New Job

On Friday afternoon around 4:00, I called my new principal and accepted the position of 8th Grade Science Teacher.

Since then I’ve had several people look at me and go. . . Science.  .really? Yes! Really!

I’m excited about the challenge that lies ahead. Here’s a little insight to my decision.

I was offered this position or 8th Grade Mathematics. As a math teacher, I would want to grab that position right up. However, I was offered science over math. So I thought about it. I looked at the standards that I will be teaching, and I thought about it. I talked with other teachers, and I thought about it.

Yes, I could go teach math and do a great job. The kids would learn and they would pass the test. However, am I just wanting to get into a rut? I’ve always said that I don’t want to get into a rut. So why not try something new?

Yes, science is my weakest subject. I get learn something new! I get to learn with the students! Letting students see me learn is exciting and it helps them learn even more. It allows students to know more than me and share their information with me and be excited that they helped me.

Yes, I have quite a bit to do before August rolls around. . . .but that’s normal for any teacher, right?

This is going to be exciting. Yes, I am a little nervous, but I know I’ll do great. I have a great support staff at the new school I will be at, as well as through my Personal Learning Network. My PLN will help me form my thoughts and lessons and give me great ideas.

I’m exited about this new endeavor. If I couldn’t achieve this, I would not have been offered the job. Thank you all for your continued support. This summer is going to be great! Let’s prepare for August 11, 2011!!!!!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Personal Learning Network, PLN, School, science. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Job

  1. I think you are brave to tackle this new position. Then again, you are a great teacher from what I have seen and read. Best wishes to you and your effort to make Science applicable to 8th graders.

  2. Kylie Harman says:

    A good teacher can successfully teach any subject. I remember when you first started teaching math and you didn’t think it was your best subject either.

Leave a Reply

