Teen Books Promote Reading

I love to read. Adult books? Not really. They’re mainly dry and slow. Place a teen/young adult book in my hand and I’m in heaven. I just need to keep motivated in reading. I have NOT been succeeding at my goal of a book a week this summer. However, I have been enjoying the new find at the store Deadline by Chris Crutcher. This is the first book of Crutcher’s that I have read.

Here’s the page that I love, which leads into other great discussions that would make Ginger Lewman, a former colleague, proud.

First period of the first day of school I realize if I’m going to maximize my education this year, I’d better take control. Mr. Lambeer, our U.S. government/current events teacher, underlines that idea for me in spades. As a junior I took U.S. history from him, and dutifully wrote down everything he said, regurgitated it on tests, and walked away with an A. Since then, however, I’ve begun reading Lies My Teacher Told Me, by James W. Loewen, which tells how the twelve most popular high school history texts are way more interested in making us love our country and revere all the famous historical dudes than they are in getting the facts right. As near as I can tell, Lambeer told every lie in the book, and added some whoppers of his own. So I’m figuring what’s true for history, may also be true for government.

The main character goes on to test many things that the Mr. Lambeer says over the next few pages. It’s wonderful to see a student proud of his own learning and taking a hold of it. However, that’s a different post.

What I want to point out is that it mentions another book in the paragraph. It’s giving another title for students to go check out and read. Friday Night Lights as well as A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. I love how they reference other books.

I’ve really been noticing this tread lately in YA books. Is this new, or did I just not notice it before. I always get into a book and enjoy it, then I want to read the book that the main character is reading because it’s being recommended.

I also think it’s wonderful how an author is supporting other authors and not just relying on themselves for good reading. It’s showing their love of reading just as much as writing.

This is what teachers should be doing. We should be collaborating and sharing ideas with each other all the time. we should be referencing other teachers in the building when teaching so that students know who to go to for help, but also to show that we are always learning as well.

Yes, you may be a great teacher and have great ideas, but you should be sharing them and grabbing ideas from others. Don’t try to reinvent the wheel. Let’s all work together to help students learn, just like authors are working together to encourage students to read.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, Ginger Lewman, Personal Learning Network, PLN, Reading, School, Summer Reading, Teachers, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

