Sweltering Heat

As many in the Mid-West know, July was a hot month. I thought I’d give some charts showing the high temperatures of different places in the United States. (all temperatures are in Fahrenheit)

This first chart shares the high temperatures in Emporia, KS compared to the average July high temperature and what the average was over the month in 2011.

As you can see, it’s been a hot month here in Emporia. Starting August off where July ended. This next one is comparing different cities around the United States in July.

I chose certain cities. First, I have Death Valley, because it is to be the hottest place in the United States. In fact, it’s average high for July is 115. . . . .not this year. In fact, on the 31st, Death Valley had a high of 89 and rain. Oklahoma City and Dallas both had pretty consistent highs throughout the month, hotter than normal though. Salina had the most noticeable changes. Ranging from 86 to 113. On July 27, Salina was the hottest in the United States.

Now, you may be sitting here and looking at the temperatures as well. In the Mid-West we have humidity that plays a huge part. There were some days that the heat index (adding dew point in with the temperature) would reach into the 110-120 range, sometimes even higher. Death Valley and Las Vegas have dry heat. This summer would have been nicer to be at “hell on Earth”.

This last chart is helping bring back the cold. It is comparing the highs in July with those in January this past year. I want to thank a student who I had this past year for the information. I had a class compare temperatures in January and I used the information that Chris had left on Edmodo.

 

There are a few reasons why I like this graph. The main one. . . .this shows that we have seasons here in Kansas. This year in particular has been crazy. From the lowest low in January, -4, to the highest high in July, 106, we have a 110 degree difference. Again, that’s here in Emporia. Salina and Wichita saw even lower lows and higher highs.

Remember, stay cool. Drink plenty of water and stay indoors when possible.

*disclaimer: I use ChartGo for making charts. They do not pay me to use their site, but I love it!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweltering Heat

  1. Pat says:

    This would be great to use in the classroom! My students have always responded well to charts and loved making their own too. I hope it cools off when we drive through KS in about a month!

Leave a Reply

