Beginning Jitters

Well, here it is, the first day of the school year. . . .for me. Students do not return until next Thursday. So many thoughts are running through my mind. Am I ready to go? How are things going to be? This will be a great year!

First, the biggest change is going from a school with 6 faculty and 70 students to about 600 students and I don’t know how many faculty. That is just now, at semester the 6th grade students and staff will be joining us in the building.

Another change will be switching over to Science. On Friday, I sat down with the other 8th Grade Science teachers and we planned out the first quarter. We know what we will be teaching when. This evening we plan on meeting and looking at the curriculum a little deeper and build quizzes for the quarter. I have a great group that I get to work beside.

I also have sat down with the team of teachers with whom I will be teaching 95 students. We have great ideas to help welcome the students and start the year off great. We have a few more meetings together before the start to make sure we are ready to welcome them.

This year is going to be great! The best part? There are no triple digits in the 8 day forecast. I know it may seem weird to be pointing that out, but when you’re needing to get out and about and get back to work, not having those hot temperatures sure helps.

Well, it’s getting to the time that I need to get up and ready so I can get to the district office. I get to see most of the old staff I worked with last year this morning. It’s going to be a great year! I hope you enjoy yours as well!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Education, New School, New Year, School, science, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beginning Jitters

  1. Pat says:

    How exciting! I hope when we drive through KS that maybe you will get a chance to meet us! I love your blog!

  2. Molly says:

    I hope that your year goes well at the new school. I loved teaching science for many years. Finally, I wish cool weather for your start of the school year.

  3. Sounds like things are starting to pick up! Don’t forget to take time, slow down and enjoy the students. Have fun and good luck!

Leave a Reply

