Whirlwind Weekend

Last week I had two days of new teacher training for the school district that I’m joining this year. They were great. I met so many new people and know it’s going to be a wonderful year! On Thursday morning I sat with people who will be in the building with me and we all shared about books that we have been reading. Some of them were educational, some were fun reading. The awesome part is that none of us are English teachers! Having a chance to share and learn from one another at the start is great.

On Friday, I was able to meet several other staff members and get to know a few at the back to school faculty gathering. Being able to sit down and visit about my beliefs in education and to hear others is a great way to get to know who you will be working beside in the upcoming year! If you have a chance to do this, go for it!

On Saturday, I was to be moving to a new apartment. However, due to complications of carpet being replaced in the new place and the electricity being off, I waited a day. However, my parents, brother, and sister-in-law all came to visit. We sat and visited and just had a great time bowling, walking around downtown, and talking about life. I have an unbelievable family that cares and I am able to talk with at all times.

Finally today, I got my things moved into my new apartment. The electricity is still off until tomorrow, so I am staying with a friend tonight. The place looks great so far and I’m excited to be downgrading from a two-bedroom to a one-bedroom. It will be cozy and great when I get everything in it’s place this week.

This afternoon I went clothes shopping for the school year as well. I love to shop for clothes and I found some great deals by using FourSquare. You need to check out how to save money yourself. One place I saved $10 with a $50 purchase. So in actuality, I spent more than I desired because of the fact that I wanted to save money.

All in all, the weekend was great. I now return to school in the morning for two days of training, an open house, a workday, and the first two days of school with students. I’m excited about starting the new year and can’t wait to share what I am learning this year!

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whirlwind Weekend

  1. Pat says:

    I hope you have a good year! I will be following along to hear about your new adventures!

Leave a Reply

