Why I Teach

This past week was the first full week of school for the school year. It went pretty great. I can’t believe how quickly the first seven days of school have gone! December will be here before I know it and I’ll be changing classrooms. Then it will be May and I will be watching my students walk out the door and make their way to the high school.

So why do I walk into the classroom everyday?

Well, this past week I have had past students add my on Facebook to keep in touch. I also have had students stop in the hall and talk to me for a bit before they went and found their siblings. I even had a past student who is now in college stop and talk to me at the restaurant he was working at to tell me he has a professor just like me. Other past students walk down my hall just to say hello because they don’t have me as a teacher this year.

Students remember you and come back to you even though you are not their teacher anymore. I have made an impact on these students and it shows when they return to say hello.

What has been really surprising these past few months is that students that I had during a long-term substitute position February-April 2010 are yelling just to wave to me, stopping and talking to me. In such a short amount of time I taught them and they learned. I made an impact that I couldn’t even imagine could be done in such a short time.

I don’t make that much money. I don’t go home and relax in the evenings, I’m planning for the next day or week. I don’t get to travel all over the world with my job. What do I get? I get the satisfaction that I am helping students grow.

I want to thank my students for making an impact on me as well. Thank you for being great students and learning. Thank you for the information that you have shared with me in getting to know you, or learning something that YOU had knowledge about and I did not.

I teach because I care and love children.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Teach

  1. JellyBean says:

    Hi! Just starting to make my rounds in the math teacher blogosphere. I’m a 4th year teacher and am loving this community. This is a great post, BTW. As I was reading it, a youtube video came to mind. You should watch it. Taylor Mali is a poet and he talks about “What Teachers Make”, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxsOVK4syxU.

    This is the kind of video that will pump me up for the school year and keep me going when the giong gets tough throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

