Do We Have Homework?

image

There has been a lot of talk about homework lately. Today, someone shared this link on Twitter. What are my thoughts?

Well, I have taught math in the past. My thoughts on homework was that if students had homework, they didn’t get finished in class. I never assigned homework. Homework was there if they didn’t get finished in class, but most times students did.

Now that I teach Science, it’s the same way. A lot of what we do is in class, hands-on activities. Homework are the questions they didn’t get to because they were goofing off or not focused in class.

In my opinion, teachers who teach the entire period and allow no work time are not good teachers. Students need to know they are being successful and have confidence. They can’t have a teacher telling them they are correct when they are at home.

Students need us to help them. That’s why we are hired to teach! So what are your thoughts about homework? Leave comments and share. Am I wrong in my thoughts?

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do We Have Homework?

  1. Pingback: The Case in Favour of Homework « Topical Teaching

Leave a Reply

