A Vow To Make A Difference This Week

I was reading through some blog posts today, and came upon Let’s Make A Difference by Justin Tarte. He shares ways to help make a difference in the lives of others.

So tomorrow is Monday. I vow to say hello to as many students as I possibly can and find out how their day is going. Yes, this includes learning some phrases in Spanish.

Last week I also tried leaving the curriculum map and taught about earthquakes. I felt my first one ever last weekend. Since I’m from Kansas and felt my first, I knew my students had as well, so I taught them about what they felt.

I was nervous about covering something that was not in my standards, but felt it needed to be shared since it was a current, and different, event for us. Not a single person told me that I should not have done that. My principal even felt it was good to cover and share.

Doing something out of the normak can be scary, but I had the attention of every student and even had some great conversations. Students cared about this phonomenon that was new to them. Also, finding out we live near a fault was brand new information.

I hope you will try to make a difference. How different would school be if we all stepped out of our comfort zone for a day?

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Vow To Make A Difference This Week

  1. Baylee says:

    Yes it would. Teachers and students are amazing when challenged.

Leave a Reply

