January 1 – Item #1

This year I am going to be sharing items that are used in the classroom. I know right now it will be fairly simple, but there are many things we use daily and don’t think about it.

Starting the year off early. Ink pens.

image

Looking at when I was younger, the teacher was pretty much the only one who had a pen. If we were to grade a paper, then we would pull out a pen. Doing any kind of work in pen was not allowed.

In high school, we had to write final draft papers in pen. That was not fun when you made a mistake.

However, if you walk into a classroom now, there are many teachers who allow students to write in pen. I am one of them. If they enjoy writing in pen and they have one, why argue over it?

Now, thinking back to one room school houses and having ink wells. Could you imagine having those I the classroom now? I, myself, have never used one. Have any of you?

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

