edcampSTL reflection 2012

This past weekend I made a trip to St. Louis, MO for edcampstl. It was a great weekend of getting to know people that I talk to on a regular basis on Twitter and also to meet more people.

This was the first time I have gone to a conference on my own. I was a little nervous, but had a great group of Tweeps that I was going to be meeting. I’d like to thank Chris McGee (@cmcgee200) for really getting me to go. He was a great host for the event and a great leader for the conference.

I also had the chance to listen to the great mind of Josh Stumpenhorst (@stumpteacher), 2011-12 Illinois Teacher of the Year. He is an amazing teacher and has so many great ideas which he shares with everyone he meets.

I sat in one session on Saturday, led by Matt Weld (@MatthewWeld), about being a bold school and what it means. A great article about being an old school or bold school can be seen here. This was a great discussion with everyone about what exactly a bold school/teacher/district looks like. A chance to realize that one person cannot do it all was a great way to help be excited about going back to school and grabbing more people to be bold. However, are we as schools leaders or followers in the world? What can we do to be more leaders?

Another session was led by Patrick Dempsey (@midschoolsci) and John Prezzavento (@jpprezz) which had everyone up and walking around the room. We had discussions over several hot topics in the schools. How do we feel about online grade books, teacher tenure, bringing your own device, and several other topics. Having a chance to have an outlet and to hear others helps to realize that you are not always the only one in certain situations or have feelings.

I want to thank everyone that I met this past weekend. It was an exciting time. If you ever have a chance to go to an edcamp, I encourage you to do so. They are free and a great way to meet many great minds and share about education. I made so many great connections and hope they continue. I apologize to anyone who I didn’t mention. There were so many great minds and I look forward to collaborating with you more.

My next conference is MACE, which is in just a few weeks. I also signed up this weekend for edcampOmaha in March. I know these two conferences will be great and help open my eyes and ears to the great things happening in education!

Will I see you at any of these?

Here is another great reflection from the day by Bob Deneau.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

