Looking Back

A couple of weeks ago I was watching the Olympic Trials for swimming and they were talking about Michael Phelps. He will be going to his 4th Olympic Games, which means the first time he went was to Australia in 2000. The amazing thing is, he was 15 that first year he went. That’s amazing!

Well, then I started to think about what I have accomplished in the past 12 years. True, I haven’t been to 4 different countries to participate in a sport, but I have done some amazing things.

To name a few:

  1. Graduated from Emporia State University with my teaching degree
  2. Taught a total of 7 years so far (ages 1-18)
  3. Worked with teens from Northern Ireland in the Ulster Project
  4. Lived in Tacoma, WA for awhile
  5. Traveled to Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, Tennessee (not even half, now I’m sad)
  6. Presented in 4 different conferences
  7. Started on Twitter and Facebook (They didn’t even exist in 2000)
  8. Taught over 300 students (not including the 1.5 years of substitute teaching)

As I sat and thought about all that I have accomplished, I realized that I have done quite a bit both personally and professionally. I don’t want to just share what I have done though.

Damian Bariexca ‏ @damian613 Taught, became a psychologist, bought a house, sold it, bought a bigger one, bought two cars, got married, had two kids, started and finished grad school once, started a second time… you know, not much.

Amanda Marrinan ‏ @marragem put my 3 children through high school & tertiary ed. Saw DD1 married, became a g’parent twice over, moved online & flattened my classroom which has opened me up to the world of travel and most importantly – wonderful friends. My life has been enriched & changed enormously!

I do have to say there was one person who shared “just like Michael, I am 12 years older”. That’s great! We all have! I know this person has done so much more, but I feel we try and compare ourselves at times.

We need to brag about our accomplishments. We need to become proud of who we are and who we want to be. Don’t put others down that seem to be doing “better” than you. Instead look at what you have done and be proud.

Please feel free to comment below on the accomplishments you have met in the past 12 years!

Also, good luck to all the Olympians from around the world headed to London at the end of the month. Make your country proud and know that you are one of the lucky ones who have been given the gift to compete in the sport that you love.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking Back

  1. Reva Purcell says:

    As your mother I am proud of all you have accomplished in the past 12 years. You went through some hardships,but I feel you grew through them. The world needs more teachers like you. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

