Tiny Tower Day 3

Yesterday the kids were once again excited to come into the classroom. Right away students started to update their “Tiny Tower” game. We told them by 8:50 they needed to be started on building their skyscrapers or they would lose their iPad. We want to help the students start to learn how to balance technology in their lives and not just be attached to them 24/7.

After a little work, I took the picture to the left. The students saw me take a picture and look at them. They instantly said, “We’re waiting on the glue to dry and thought we’d update our game.” Students seem to think they’re in trouble when “catch them” doing something wrong. I was thinking that they were just waiting, but I didn’t say anything. After their comment I assured them that they were fine and I understand needing to wait at times.

We also watched the video of the Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world. After watching the video we discussed the height of the building and compared it to the height of the wall in our classroom. We then measured a student in the class and did a little math to see how tall said student would be if the building were the height of the wall (2.76 meters). What did we find out? He would be about .006 m (.6 cm) tall. Students were amazed how small he would actually be.

The building is going along great! Here are some photos from the building as well as the notes from Day 2 discussion of famous skyscrapers.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tiny Tower Day 3

  1. Molly says:

    I like your math problem comparison, I had a picture of Shaquille O’Neill holding a skeleton of a shorter person (from a Rolling Stone cover.) We had a contest to calculate the height of the skeleton, I also like the tower project. I imagine the students do too.

Leave a Reply

