A Balancing Act

Summer is a time for teachers to relax and not think about school. . . . or so many think is happening. I myself have been very busy with training, summer school, preparing for next year, and trying to have a social life.

When I’m talking about social life, I’m talking about social media. Over the past several years I have gotten to know so many teachers through Plurk, Twitter, and even Facebook. It gets tough to keep up all the time.

When I first was on Twitter, I would always go back to where I had left off before and read everyone’s tweets. I would click on their links of information they were sharing and was trying to just soak it all in! I loved being on Twitter.

Then it became too much.

During this past school year I started to follow more and more people, to where now I don’t see every tweet. It’s tough to tell yourself (and make yourself) not have to read everything. Just get in what you can. Also, you cannot possibly see everything. If you tried, you would be ALL THE TIME!

That’s where I was at. I had to find a balance between my social media life and my physical life.

This summer has been great. I’ve been teaching summer school and then going home and relaxing. I have read a few fiction books as well as a couple of educational books. It’s been a great summer of helping myself learn not to be in the know at all times.

I have missed Twitter and Plurk a little this summer, but I know that I am starting to find a happy medium. I’m excited to be starting the school year up again in 3 weeks. It’s going to be a great time and I’m going to be learning myself throughout the year.

Side Notes:

Day 8 of Tiny Tower is today: students are now realizing that their towers will be destroyed tomorrow. I will post tomorrow about Day 8 and 9 and how the project ends!

Disclaimer: My photo is of me on the wall in front of our school. Please stay off of the wall as the signs are posted. I had permission to carefully climb on the wall for the picture.
About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Balancing Act

  1. wmchamberlain says:

    I created a column in Tweetdeck where I put people whose stuff I don’t want to miss. That is a great way to stay connected with the ‘special tweeters” in my life 😉

    I used to worry about how much time I would spend doing something in my life: playing video games, reading books, being on the computer. I have just discovered that I tend to focus pretty heavily on whatever I am doing for a time, then move on to something else. One year I was really caught up in ball cards, I have a huge box of them in the barn 🙂

    To quote my favorite author Robert Heinlein “Everything in excess! To enjoy the flavors of life, take big bites. Moderation is for monks.”

  2. I took the month of July off from blogging because I feel like I was spending too much time on the computer for the summer. I’ve really had to train myself not to worry so much about what I’m missing…it’ll probably come back around by the time I’m ensconced in tech and learning every day again.

    It’s been a great time of refreshment and relaxing. I’ve read some good books and had some great trips this summer. But, that being said, I’m looking forward to hashing out some of my learning when I begin writing again next month.

  3. Jamey says:

    I agree. I see Twitter as a “stream” that you can go to at anytime and dive in. But unlike the girl in the Facebook / Toyota commercial (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUGmcb3mhLM), being involved with social media is not all there is to living. Thanks for reinforcing the need for all of use to have balance.

Leave a Reply

