Where Did August Go?

This past week I started to think about how long it’s been since I’ve written a post. So this morning I get on and see I didn’t write a single post in the month of August. WHAT?!?!?!? Where did the month go?

I’ll be honest, it flew by. I’ve been swamped with getting back into school. These may sound like excuses for not writing, but they are not. I just need to find my new balance.

For starters, we moved our start time to 7:35 am. Last year it was 8:50 am. So for me, that’s 1.5 hours less than what I had before. I still wake up at the same time, 5:00 am, but this gives me 30 minutes less at home and an hour less at school in the mornings. It’s amazing how much I was able to get done in that 1.5 hours last year.

Also, we extended our day by 48 minutes from last year. That may not seem like much, but I’m feeling it. I am just exhausted as I leave school each day. I still try to stay and work some, but my mind is just gone. It’s really difficult to work. I thought it was just me, but I’ve talked with some other teachers this week and they feel the same way.

I also will be part of a mentoring program this year, due to changes in State Licensing, so I’ve been reading “The First Days of School” by Harry Wong. This book has been great. It backs up many things that I do in my classroom, as well as giving me many great ideas for what I can do. I was able to hear Dr. Wong speak a little at the National Teacher Hall of Fame dinner this past summer. What an inspiration he is.

Student Council is going great so far! My eleven 7th and 8th graders have been awesome in getting things decorated for the year, helping the 6th graders feel welcome, and plan many great things for the school year! I feel this year is going to be EPIC! This next week I go and talk with the 6th graders to have them come and be a part of our leadership team as well!

So, as you can see, I’m not making excuses, I’m just going crazy! I know I will find a balance soon and be fine. For now though, on this Saturday of a three day weekend, I have lesson plans to write. Have a great weekend! I promise not to go a month without blogging again.

About Anthony Purcell

I am Anthony Purcell and I am currently teaching math in Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Did August Go?

  1. Pat says:

    I love that Harry Wong book! I find it so motivating! I too have used many of the things he suggests in the classroom and they really work!

Leave a Reply

